Musings from the Unemployed

It really should be harder for employers to terminate someone. Unless there is a huge glaring mistake,i.e. embezzlement, screaming at coworkers, employers, or employees, etc. many people are fired due to personal differences in the workplace. Is this just? What about the government’s role (Unemployment Compensation) , when they say it is ok to fire someone due to personal differences and not an actual transgression by the employee? This happens more than you know.

My latest dismissal was for following company policy. I had to tell a customer no, I could not accommodate her. I apologized 3 times over the course of the conversation. According to her, I was rude, bitchy and discriminated against her. Telling someone no is not rude. Being unable to help her is not rude. Apologizing 3 times is not rude. And most definitely being unable to help her no matter the color of her skin, is not rude nor discriminatory. 

I am currently awaiting a decision from Unemployment Compensation. 

In the meantime, I am down to $2.00 , yes two dollars. in the bank. My utility bill is due today and obviously I cannot pay it. 

Unfortunately like many Americans, I live paycheck to paycheck. No paycheck, I do not live. Haha

I have applied for 20+ jobs over the last 3 weeks. Two interviews. That’s it. 

And for those that may think I am a slacker, I am a college student and work full-time when I have a job. I have a 4.0 GPA and in the Honor Society. I should begin Nursing School in January 2013. Scheduled to graduate August 2014.

So if I can survive 2 more years on minimum wage jobs and employers who fire you for following company policy, I will be ok. I will be more than ok.

 

2 thoughts on “Musings from the Unemployed

  1. Good Morning Sherry. I enjoyed reading your Monday Morning Blog although it is of course disturbing. Do Not Give up dear. Keep plugging along and I do hope you find some work soon. One of the reasons I am such a fan of Labor Unions (I know they are a double edged sword), is that They protect the worker from Asshole Supervisors like the one you had. I hope the labor department whacks them big time.
    Be Well!
    Your friend,
    Chuck

Leave a Reply

